Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

Mindfulness 2

This is a follow up post to the first one here.

During Chinese New Year I got to show my student some of the weapons I have and their usefulness in training particularly mindfulness. I showed him the section of the Tai Chi Chuan straight sword that I wrote about in the first post. It was priceless to see his reaction when he helped to demonstrate the application of this section by simulating an attack to my open left side only to find himself suddenly staring at the tip of the sword which caused him to stop cold in his tracks.

Later, we watched a DVD on the rivalry of the Iceman Chuck Liddell versus Tito Ortiz. It was interesting to observe how the Iceman controlled range to deliver his knockout strikes. The control of range is something we can learn from understanding mindfulness in straight sword training because there is minimal contact to provide us with clues as to what to do unlike push hands where we can rely on touching to know predict the opponent’s movements.

Here is a clip of the Iceman to illustrate what I mean :-

I forgot to mention that the footwork and punching style that the Iceman used reminded me of the Leung Yi Ma stepping method and basic punches of Pok Khek Kuen. Interesting. For example 0:24 looks a lot like our Lin Wan Yum Chui whereas 0:45 is reminiscent of how we use Sow Chui at the close range and 0:55 is like our Faan Chui.

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

Comments are closed.