Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

Imitation?

1 Comment

If I was sitting on a chair when I received my friend’s email then I would have to hold on to prevent myself from falling off from laughing too hard.

Yes, the train has left the station and is rolling, chugging along. Before Grandmaster Wei’s untimely passing in 2013 there were not many videos of practitioners performing his Old Six Routines form on the internet even those based in China. Of those that I found they were mainly disciples of GM Wei. But today when I searched for videos of Old Six Routines they are everywhere; many of them performed in a manner that would cause my eyebrow to arch up.

Yesterday, my friend sent me an email with these two pictures :-

Copy Copy 2

The pictures with the drawings looked strangely familiar when seen at a glance. Of course, it looks like a version of the Old Six Routines except that the rings are all wrong as are the postures. When I enlarged the pictures its confirmed that the 3 Chi Rings are being used in the Tai Chi Chuan postures.

I was puzzled why the 3 Chi Rings were used differently. Then I clicked the link in the email and saw the following picture for an app in iTunes :-

Copy 3

Of course. Now I understand the difference. The title says Wu Style Tai Chi Chuan Internal Method. Interesting. This is the first time I heard of Wu style using the 3 Chi Rings. I can’t help but wonder if the master in this app is promoting a genuine teaching of Wu style or just ripping off Grandmaster Wei’s method wholesale. He even has the signature elongated wrist principle in the picture of Press Jing but its missing in the picture of him doing the kick where he reverted to the conventional settled wrist.

I searched further and this master, Zhuang Yinghao, apparently has also released a book in Chinese which you can see at this link.

I have some other reservations about what is being shown but I won’t say more than this. Some things we should keep within so that others who try to copy us won’t be able to do so easily.

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

One thought on “Imitation?

  1. Pingback: Imitation? 2 | Singapore Tai Chi Chuan