Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

Imitation? 2

A student asked me why I said that the use of the 3 Chi Rings in this post is wrong. I offered him a critique based on what I can see and what I know from more than a decade of practicing Grandmaster Wei’s methodology as taught by my teacher.

To a person who does not know much about the 3 Chi Rings, its easy to be impressed and fooled by what is offered up as a valid approach to using intention. The problem with an imitator is that they either have never learned the 3 Chi Rings and making things up as they go along or they have learned it without mastering it and just created a different approach by modifying what they learned even if they have not mastered what they learned.

However, when explaining why I am critical about this person I didn’t try to explain a lot. All I did was to construct a simple demonstration. Thereafter, I offered a simple explanation of why I thought this person’s way of using the 3 Chi Rings is wrong.

Some reader may thought that I did a demo. No, I did not. I just got my student to position his body in a certain manner and then in an alternative manner plus plugged in some basic intention. He can see and feel the difference for himself of what a logical, physics-based approach is like.

I put this out there so that those who don’t wish to be fooled are alerted. As for those who are too eager to be fooled ah, well there is nothing much to say.

 

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

Comments are closed.