Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

Paul’s Tai Chi Learning Journey

Watching a reality series can be fun. Now I am about to embark on a semi reality journey with my friend Paul in his quest to learn Tai Chi Chuan.

I have known Paul for a number of years but we have never met, at least not yet. He started off a fan of Chen style and ended up in the Yang camp instead whereas the reverse would be true for most practitioners.

Paul has never really enrolled to study in a Tai Chi school for an extended period of time. It’s not that there are no teachers where he is but I guess that deep down he is still looking for whatever it is that he is looking for. I can understand this because I went through a few teachers before settling on one and dedicating myself to discovering the physical and mental aspects of the style.

So finally in the year of the horse Paul is seeking to gallop ahead and take the plunge to learn some Tai Chi properly. That he decided to fly across the world to our little red dot is admirable. More so that he is no spring chicken having passed the big 5 O some years back. As my teacher once said to me perhaps it is fate that brought me to learn from him. Perhaps this is the case here too with Paul. Interesting how life can turn out.

I am under no illusion that I can share as much as I can with Paul given the short time he can stay here. To maximize the learning I suggested that he start practicing more seriously between now and the time he comes. He will use the information on the form in TaijiKinesis Vol 2 as guide to self learn what he can. He will then tape his learning and post it to YouTube to document it to track his performance. I will offer comments to help him correct his movements. Hopefully, by the end of this year he has improved to the point where I won’t need to spend too much time on the preliminary stuff and can focus on fine tuning instead.

Then when he is here I can help him to learn how to refine his movements, understand how the principles define the style, learn some basic push hands principles and use them to understand the connection between form, push hands and combat applications, and analyze Tai Chi strategy using push hands game theory.

Posts in this blog that are related to Paul’s learning journey will be under the category of Learning Journey and tag# paullearningtcc. Paul’s learning journey is documented at the following :-

a) Blog http://www.learningtcc.wordpress.com

b) Video http://www.youtube.com/user/chenquestion
The journey begins.

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

Comments are closed.