Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

Paul’s Learning Journey – Commentary on Video of 12 Mar 2014 Part 3

Paul posted yet another video. Let’s take a look….

One thing about learning is that one must be careful not to throw out the previous things that one has learned properly. For example I noticed that Paul has gone slightly backwards in his Beginning Posture movement. Instead of making his movements less obvious as he refines his practice he has actually gone the other way and made external what was previously more internal. I post a video I made before so that he can observe the one I meant.

 

With his latest video, he has still not nailed the connection down. It is a symptom of what my teacher used to call anyhow move.

Also, Paul raised a question of turning the foot. Basically, it is not whether I turn the foot more or you turn the foot less. Rather, it should be why did I turn it the way I did. What’s the principle? What’s the reason?

If the reader were to read the Intention for GST (i) – (iii) on page 139 I have already described a way to get the turning correct. It is not all there is to it but if you carefully visualize it you would catch the point.

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

Comments are closed.