Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

Mortality 2

Previously I wrote a post on Mortality.

This week I am reminded again of mortality particularly how the Grim Reaper can appear suddenly and whisk the living from this world. Again, I cannot help but think that should that be me one day I would not want to leave with unfinished business.

The chanting of the Buddhist prayers can be calming yet somehow the thoughts intrude that finality may not be finality and could perhaps be brought into the next world and on to the next life. Maybe this is how sometimes people feel that they have some unfinished business from a previous life. Of course, this brought to mind what my Tai Chi teacher told me that I sought him out perhaps of an unfinished learning in previous life.

Life can be wonderful, strange, melancholic and depressing all at once amidst the constant refrains of Amitabha. Funny how these thoughts can invade the mind amidst the loud Buddhist chants. Suddenly here, suddenly gone.

Death can be final. For me not today. But for my father, his life has come to an end this year, this week. Rest in peace.

 

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

Comments are closed.