Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

Broken Swords

Its what I would call the best of the worst solutions.

Using a foldable straight sword is fine for playing form. It works quite well too for playing sticking swords.

But when it comes to clashing swords during applications to simulate striking the hand, testing the power of different cuts, etc the poor foldable sword has reached its limits.

First, I could see that the sword was bent after practice last week. This week when I flicked it the last part of the sword would not longer come out. My student tried to pull it out but it was stuck.

Then I got my student to do sword disarming and he smashed his sword down really hard and there was a dent in the “blade”.

I think that dent must have caused a structural damage to the pommel because when I showed him how to issue power in a short, circling strike something dropped out. It was the weight placed in the pommel to bring the balance of the sword closer to the handle.

Perhaps we should start looking at some other viable alternatives that won’t get damaged so easily.

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

Comments are closed.