Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

Tai Chi Ruler

1 Comment

2 + 2 = 4.

Earlier in the training session I got around to mentioning about the fajing effect of Tai Chi Ruler system to my student. This is a very little known method of doing Tai Chi. But after knowing it for a long time, I have discovered what those Tai Chi Ruler methods of using training implements and solo exercises mean in terms of fajing.

The method of the long ruler partner exercise is good for focusing the intention and transmitting power over an extended range whilst the shaking ruler method is great for issuing a sudden, vibrating force with an effect as if the person demonstrated on has been given a sudden electrical shock.

After the lesson I heard a tale of sickness and later in the night I remembered that my teacher, Master Leong, mentioning once that Tai Chi Ruler can also help in curing illnesses. True or not, I have no idea as I did not learn it for health reasons.

However, it is my opinion that for those whose health is partly caused by stress doing Tai Chi can be helpful because it calms the mind, massages the internal organs and provides gentle exercise for those whom hard, sweaty and high impact exercises may aggravate rather than help the health.

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

One thought on “Tai Chi Ruler

  1. Pingback: Faith | Singapore Tai Chi Chuan