Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

Muscle Me

1 Comment

My student finally said it.

He said that he thought I used to muscle him out in push hands. However, today after years of training he knows better.

To me its pretty pointless to speculate. If you asked me I would explain and show how its done. There is no need to make guesses and assumptions.

So despite knowing better I still rather he has a clear and unambiguous understanding that though it felt like being muscled out it wasn’t. Best way to do it was for him to push really hard with one hand whilst the other hand was feeling my bicep and tricep all the way from unbalancing, uprooting to moving him.

At least after feeling it a few times now he knows that despite being told by outsiders via hearsay and reading material the majority is not always correct. In some narrow cases the majority may not know that they do not know what its really like. How could they since not everyone trains the same way. So the results will inevitably be different.

For us to avoid veering off on a tangent we have to rigorously ensure that we adhere lock, stock and barrel to the Tai Chi Classics. No compromises here. Period.

I wanted him to feel that whether the fajing was slow or fast the conditions were the same. Unfortunately, he flew off too fast and was not able to feel it clearly.

I remembered one student who did Wudang Tai Chi who also thought I muscled him but I didn’t let him feel so unfortunately this was one student who probably still harbored this misconception. I know its common for some masters to say one thing and do another but to me first and foremost as a practitioner I would not bluff myself. So if its not what it is then it is not. This was why in the other post Quiet at Night I told X (whom I first mentioned in Haze) that the power he felt was not from my elbow though he thought it was. He might have thought I was lying to him but I didn’t really talk about Tai Chi so he would not understand this point clearly.

 

 

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

One thought on “Muscle Me

  1. Pingback: Muscle Me 2 | Singapore Tai Chi Chuan