Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

Force Training

Again I had to laugh when I saw the video. Images of hecklers shouting fake, fake came to mind.

Yes, indeed; the typical motions you see associated with the use of body movements to fajing is barely present here. This is because we are focusing our learning on the use of intention to generate the jing of Peng and An.

At 0:36 we have another example of the Zen principle of flag moving or mind moving in that did I push my student out or did he really pushed himself. At 1:59 I asked him to keep his focus. Then I applied a smaller amount of power and right away I can feel that there is something there that is pushing me away when I tried to push him. On hindsight perhaps it was me pushing myself away.

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

Comments are closed.