Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

From Past to Present

Tai Chi Chuan is a living art.

What this means is that claiming a lineage is plain silly because until you can demonstrate the unique skill of your particular lineage having a rank or certificate means nothing.

In the clip below which I extracted from a longer clip you can see my Grandmaster Wei Shuren explain and demonstrate the power of Wild Horse Parts Mane.

Despite being in his lineage I could not explain how he did that much less do it. However, my teacher told me not to worry about the power and just focus on getting the basic principles correct. After many years of training I had an inkling how GM Wei issued the power but I could still not do it.

I didn’t worry too much about it and kept my teacher’s advice to heart and keep doing the basics again and again. And my teacher was correct. When the basics are correct the skill will come. The flavor of GM Wei’s power is its very sudden and can cause the demo partner to jump and land in a squat. At the end of the clip is my poor rendition of this skill which depends on understanding and applying the force of Peng and Jing within the same movement.

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

Comments are closed.