Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

Sword & Body 3

In this final clip on the use of Tai Chi straight sword and its correlation to empty hand techniques, we examine the idea of how the training of the straight sword can enhance the power of our empty hand techniques.

At the beginning of the clip I asked my student to apply sudden and forceful power on me. However, his power is not forceful enough. At 0:18 I demonstrate how the straight sword movement in the clip in the previous Sword & Body 2 post can be used to enhance the forcefulness of my palm strike.

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

Comments are closed.