Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

Habanero

Leave a comment

I looked at the packet of habanero chili. It’s not that big and ugly. Despite reading about its reputation for heat the actual habanero chilies before me didn’t faze me.

That is until I actually tried one and yikes!!!

Once upon a time my schoolmate saw Master Leong demonstrate a low side kick on me from afar. He said it didn’t look impressive.

I said why not go and try it for himself. He walked over to Master Leong. He came back and said that standing on the receiving end the kick was faster than when he was looking at it from the sidelines.

Moral of the story – don’t jump to any conclusions before actually trying something out.

Yesterday someone commented that a particular master didn’t look impressive. Now I know this master from way back and saw him gain control of another local master who had 10 years on him in Wing Chun. So I would not say he is not impressive.

But I can understand the sentiment when looking at this master’s more recent videos and comparing them with the private footage that I have. There could be reasons for this change but I am not going to speculate.

Again, like eating the habanero one might not be able to stand the spiciness whilst another may find it tame. So sometimes it’s pointless to pass judgement on people or things we have not tried before.

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

Leave a Reply

