Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

Hidden Blade

It was just like a scene out of a movie, perhaps a yarn called The Secret Flying Sword. But it sure was funny.

We use telescopic straight swords for practice. It’s not ideal but a poke won’t hurt much nor a splitting cut.

Here I was talking and showing, repeating something I said before about the importance of keeping a distance whilst the swords were moving when my student’s sword broke and half a section flew at me. It missed me by a lot since I followed my own advice to keep a distance and safe, angled position.

But it sure was funny. Right away the notion of secret flying blade popped into mind.

This was the second sword we broke in practice though we tried to avoid doing hard contact this time around.

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

Comments are closed.