Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

So What?

Yang Luchan was great.

So what?

Ip Man was great.

So what?

Lots of masters, dead or alive, were or are great.

So what?

We seem to have this obsession with masters. Why?

Does knowing the greatness of a master translate across into skills for us?

Yes and no.

If you ask me I would reply more often no than yes.

Some students like to ask me for opinion of this master and that master. Honestly, speaking how good a master is can be a case of relativity. But seriously I am not as interested in how good a master is as opposed to what I can learn from him and whether that learning can lead me to getting skills.

Masters can be like clothes in that not all sizes are suitable for the respective body size. So like buying clothes I seek that size which I can wear comfortably.

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

Comments are closed.