Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

200 Buckaroos

Dang. I forgot about this link to a video that my friend sent me.

I remember having a look back then. Not terribly impressed. Maybe its because I already know the method.

Perhaps if I have the cash to spare. But 200 bucks is expensive if you already know this style well or you don’t really know it but curious to find out more. Certainly, from this preview I am not sure if a lot of people will get something out of it.

Firstly, you have to know Mandarin. If you have to rely on the translation then you will be wasting your money.

Secondly, if you buy the video with the intention of learning the form I think it will be difficult because I hate to say it but I saw certain things that are off. I just its just a wee bit but to me off is off. Certainly, not something expected given the write-up.

Thirdly, as I was telling someone the video is boring. Lots and lots of talking. Some might like it. This is how I learned the style too. Lots and lots of informal lecture.

But is this the best way or only way to learn it? Sadly, to say no. Now that I understand the method I can say that its not as difficult to learn and actually master it. Teaching this way might appeal to a niche market of snobs but seriously if we want the art to survive we got to cut through all the words and get to the essence.

 

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

Comments are closed.