Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

To Learn

10945021_10202922507897547_3214968167263427338_n

 

Paul has good learning attitude. He is not afraid to think, analyse and try. He even remembers the little things that I mentioned to him.

When you want to learn an art you have to keep your mind and body open to change. Giving excuses like “its old habits” won’t cut it because ultimately no one can change you except yourself. So if you don’t want to master an art this is the best reason to do it.

More often than not students like to sabotage their own learning. Some students think they are very smart and can tell when an art is not what its supposed to be. But the paradox is if they know what an art is then how come they have not mastered it?

So ergo, they don’t really know what they think they know. Thinking that they know is an illusion, a mirage that does nothing except props the ego and boosts self-importance.

My best students are those who allow themselves to learn rather than let their minds and ergo rule their learning. You can see them put in the effort to change. Otherwise, I can teach a form but without doing those tiny, weeny details then a student is not really learning my form but just borrow the sequence to do it their way, the way that didn’t work and didn’t allow them to master the art. How ironic, that they say they want to learn but really they want a pat on the shoulder and a kind word to say that they are doing and getting it.

Paul may be older than me but he has a young mind, has no attitude and open to learning. I am glad that I managed to share a little of what I know and hope that he will master it eventually, come hell or high water. I only wish that some of my students could be like Paul. This is why I consider Paul as a friend rather than a student.

 

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

Comments are closed.