Singapore Tai Chi Chuan

How?

“How did you do it?” – my student asked.

The reader might think my student was asking a question of a secret teaching, secret principle or secret fajing method. But he wasn’t.

During training we had strayed off our usual space and ended up near some round pillars. So there I was explaining how to recover from a push and demonstrating how to train the principle using Step Back Repulse Monkey when I got that question.

He was intrigued by how I knew when to stop stepping back and thus avoided running into the pillar behind me.

This was no big secret. Its just a matter of awareness. Its not always the case that everything in Tai Chi training needs to be a secret this or secret that. Sometimes its just something ordinary perceived as extraordinary by another person who does not understand what is happening. That’s all.

 

Author: ZenMindSword

Mushin is a practitioner, researcher and trainer for Yang style Tai Chi Chuan. He is also author of The Ip Man Koans, The Ip Man Questions and TaijiKinesis series of eBooks, as well as co-author of Complete Wing Chun.

Comments are closed.